42……..

“Douglas Adams’s book The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, in which the number 42 is The Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything.”

So, does this mean that at approximately 12:05 p.m on Saturday, I will have all the answers to life…that I never had before?

I will be 42 on Saturday. Am I stressing about it? Not a bit. Other than the issues in my life caused by my shoulder injury, I am a happy person. I am more comfortable in my own skin now, than I was 10 years ago.

True story…My 25th birthday was my WORST! I had been on this planet a quarter of a century, and had accomplished nothing in my mind. I wasn’t married yet, nor did I have children. I lived in a cramped attic apartment on the 3rd floor, with only 2 rooms and a bathroom. I had a good job, but shortly after this birthday, it would be gone, due to government layoffs.

What I didn’t know was that I would meet the man who would become my husband and the father of my wingnuts just a few short months later. And what I sure didn’t know was that it would be someone that I had known for years.

We are no longer married, sad I know. We didn’t work as a couple, both immature and unsure of what a real marriage took. But I am very proud to say that we are amazing parents. I don’t say that lightly. I know we make mistakes, like other parents…because let’s face it, wingnuts don’t come with instruction manuals. But thankfully, our mistakes have been few and far between.

We have also learned to be what we started out as….friends. That makes me happy, because he is a good man.

Let’s see, what else about 42………

I am having a BBQ at a friend’s this weekend to celebrate. Not a lot of people, just her and her 3 girls..and me and my 3 wingnuts. But we always have a great time together! Lots of laughing, being silly with the kids, and good food.

Ok, getting tired, so maybe I will add to the “42” thing tomorrow after work. Yep, back on light duty at the office again. Painful to the shoulder, but it gets me out of the house.

Be blessed! x 42

Leave a Reply

