Ahhhh….Sweet Relief

Well, I didn’t get my walk in yesterday, but it was a good day none the less. Hehe love that phrase.

I did get a huge load of laundry done. That is critical. The school frowns on sending your kids to school nekkid. Not sure why, but they do.

And I got my baby back. Yes, I am speaking of my laptop. I should have this baby fused to my hands or something. I was so excited when they called to tell me it was ok. No major surgery required. I did have a light infection (where I got it I have no idea), and they fixed a Windows problem. And the best part is that I didn’t lose anything. Not one photo, not one amount of info from my schoolwork. Whewwwwwwww!

So what did I do as soon as I got home? I backed it all up to my external harddrive like a good doobie. All of it. Pictures, schoolwork, genealogy research. And I will continue to do it on a weekly basis, if not more. I am never going to risk that again.

So I also ended up having to take my daughter to a concert I didn’t know about until the last minute. She is in Chorus at her high school. But it worked out well. She did her concert while the male wingnuts that I love, and I, went to get the laptop and then went to Wallyworld to pick up some fishing hooks and weights. They have a Fish N’ Run Derby this weekend for Scouts. My youngest wingnut will be camping the whole weekend. His first camping trip. So today I have to set up their fishing poles. I might have to look online for a refresher course. It’s been decades since I set up a fishing pole.

I used to go fishing as a kid in the waters across from my parent’s home. But my father doesn’t believe in “catch and release”. He informed me that if I wasn’t going to eat what I caught, I couldn’t go fishing anymore. So I stopped. Little did he realize, I was force fed fish for all of my childhood. My mother made me eat it, no matter what. She was that kind of momma. You ate whatever was put in front of you.

I remember one time, she made liver. I HATE liver. This one particular day, I decided that a revolt was in order. I, at 10 or 11 years old, was going to stand up to this evil woman, who was trying to force feed me something that shouldn’t be eaten.

So, I fussed and carried on. I tried hiding it in my mashed potatoes. I pushed it around my plate, hoping it would look like I had eaten some….because we know 10 little piles of liver looks smaller than one big pile.

I got sent to bed that night with that liver sitting on my plate. And I woke up the next morning to cold liver for breakfast. Apparently my mother was feeling especially powerful that morning. And I complied. I ate the cold liver. But secretly I also made a pact with myself, that has endured since that fateful day.

When I am a grownup, I will never eat anything I don’t like. Period. And I have held true to that pact. I do not eat liver, or fish, or any boiled meat (ie: boiled ham dinner, chicken fricazee, etc.).

While my tastes have mellowed a bit in my old age, and I will now eat onions if they are cooked into something, they have to be small pieces. And I still don’t like cooked green peppers, but will eat them raw.

Ahhh…..sweet relief.

Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

