Quotes and thoughts…

I found some quotes on Bloglines this morning, and thought I would share.

One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.”

A. A. Milne

Oh this one fits me SO well (insert hysterical laughter here from my hubby).  I go shopping, and never buy expensive stuff, but lots of little stuff.  I will drop the bag somewhere, and then forget about it.  Six months later, I find it and it feels like Christmas morning, I get all excited about this little trinket, or storage thing.  Storage things are my downfall, even though I am desperately trying to become more organized (yet never seem to quite get there).  I read that something great will work for storing X, so I go buy it or something similar.  Nine times out of ten, it doesn’t even get put into practice, or I don’t like how it works.  Pitiful huh?

Which leads me to my next quote:

Just because something doesn’t do what you planned it to do doesn’t mean it’s useless.” Thomas JeffersonI am a firm believer in Salvation Army and Goodwill Drop off’s.  I have been donating a LOT lately.  As I try to declutter our house, I am at one of these places nearly once a week.  This is a good thing…just because that organizational doodad I bought didn’t work for me, doesn’t mean it won’t work for someone else.  Oh, I could open a store on ebay for all the stuff I need to get rid of…but in my chaotic, too much to do already mind…I don’t have the time, the inclination or the effort to take photos of everything, mail it out when someone wins a bid, and keep track of it all.  And besides, the money raised by my donating things for sale to SA or GW goes to good causes.

And this next one, I am going out on a limb.  I don’t normally discuss politics publicly.  But this one needs to be said.

Democracy is a device that ensures we shall be governed no better than we deserve.” George Bernard Shaw

Due to the 2008 Presidential elections being forced down our throats a year earlier than they should, I thought this one was appropriate.  It is a sad thing to see so many people complaining about our country and how it is run, yet the average voting turnout for anything is less than 40%.  I don’t care if you are a Democrat, Republican, Independent or anything in between.  If you live in these great United States, you have a moral obligation to find out all you can about who is running for any office you are eligible to vote for, and to then actually get in your car, take ten minutes out of your schedule, and go vote.

No one, in my opinion, who can’t go vote, has a right to complain about what type of government they get after an election.  People in other countries, even in the 21st century, are putting their lives at risk to vote.  To voice their opinion through the polling place.  Yet we can’t detour for 10 minutes?  How lazy have we become?  Too much in my opinion.

Ok, off my soapbox for the morning.  I will however give you some tips on this particular subject.  Most of the candidates running have served in Congress.  You can go to the Congressional records website, and research the history of votes on any candidate that served in Congress.  If it is someone like Rudy Guliani, just do a search on the web.  With the amount of information on the internet, there is no excuse for being an uninformed citizen and voter.

Have a blessed day, and I hope I have given you something to think about.

4 Responses

  1. OMGOSH I TOTALLY DO THAT TOO with the disorderly thing girl!!! I just found all kinda stuff while doing my room I forgot about. I kinda havent done anything else on my room in a while been so busy. BUT Hubby is gonna take the ugly brown cabinet and take it out and spray it white so it for now will match the other stuff… (till it gets ink and paint and crapp all over it and well then he can do it again hurrrayyy!)
    My counter top isnt bolted down yet which is kinda good cuz bella dumped my big ol plastic box of primas that were seperated by sized color and flower (insert the omg i cant believe you just did that look here)
    BUT we are gonna do some on it this weekend while the weather is good.
    GIRL I AM SO WITH YA ON THE POLITICAL FRONT ON THE VOTING ISSUES! I come from a very political family with high moral views on the voting issues I dont care if you are dying if you can mark a ballot my dad believed your butt should be there. I turned 18 on Jan 1st. I registered to vote on jan 2. HE drove me IT was a family moment we have a photo somewhere ( I need to scrap this) OK this is turning into like a novel so Im gonna shut up for now BWAHAHAH (write that one down will ya)
    LOVE your quotes girly girl!
    xoxo

  2. Just for the record, I stood in line for over 4 hours to vote in the last presidential election- WITH two small kids going bonkers. Still, I agree =)

  3. Nancy,
    OMG you had me in stiches..as usual!!! I was the same way about registering to vote…the day I turned 18 I did it..my first Presidential election was Reagan’s 2nd term.
    Hehe, Bella is too cute to get mad at (yeah right!). I am in the process of moving my room upstairs due to flooding downstairs, not gonna be as pretty, but workable, which is what matters most!

  4. Angela,
    Way to go gf!! I remember those days, I would have two toddlers and one in a baby seat, waiting to vote.

Leave a Reply

