Assorted things…

So I was reading some blogs yesterday (when don’t i?), and found some stuff I thought I would share here today.  Angela got tagged on her blog and asked for someone else to take the challenge, so I offered.  Here are six weird, unknown things you don’t know about me.

1.  I love going outside barefoot in the warm weather.  But it drives me insane if I feel dirt on my floors in the house.  Not sure what that is about…the minute warm weather is here, I only put shoes on if it is absolutely necessary (going to the store, etc). Yet, it drives me insane to feel the grit on my kitchen or hardwood floors.

2.  I hate climbing into bed with the covers all messed up.  I do not make my bed everyday, and my boys tend to watch tv in my room, rearranging the covers in the process.  Hubby always goes to bed before me, and inevitably I wake him up trying to straighten out the covers so I can go to sleep.

3.  I don’t like to use a full size fork to eat.  I prefer salad forks.  The regular forks are too long in my opinion, and could be deemed lethal weapons.

4.  I hate carrots.  In any shape or form.  Didn’t use to, and don’t know when it started, but I can’t stand them.  I will put them in things like salad, and stew for everyone else in our house, but I will pick every single last one out.

5.  Another covers issue I just thought of…Even if it was 900 degrees in the summer, I have to at least have a top sheet over my body.  And usually, I have to have a blanket too due to hubby having the AC too high. 

6.  Everyone who reads my blog knows that I like coffee.  I don’t think you realize the extent of my addiction however….I drink approximately 4 pots a day.  That is 12 cup pots.  I drink it from the minute I wake up until the minute I go to bed.  I must have coffee.

There, please do not think badly of me, I know I am weird…but really, how weird am I in comparison to others who have taken this tag challenge on?

And I found this on Jessica Sprague’s blog: Visual DNA.  You can click on the link to make your own.

Read my VisualDNA Get your own VisualDNA™

And finally, over on Tasra’s blog yesterday, she posted a cute video that was both funny and thought provoking.  It is about “expectations”.  I am horrible about having expectations for others, and myself.  I grew up with a great father and mother.  They had their faults just like everyone else, but that became my example of what marriage should be.  I always wanted to marry someone just like my father.

When I married my first husband, I got just that.  A man who loves to hunt, fish, hang out with his friends and brothers.  At first it didn’t bother me, but I also had these expectations in my head of what “love” should be.  And it was the complete opposite of what my parents had.  Not sure where that came from.  Reading books, watching too many chick flick movies, who knows.  But I got mad at him, A LOT, for not being around.  Especially after we had kids.  He was and still is an amazing man.  He is a fabulous father, and in looking at myself over the last few years, I actually got up the nerve about six months ago to apologize to him for what happened in our marriage.  I didn’t apologize for everything, because he had and still has his own faults.  But I felt it was necessary to tell him I was sorry for what I did.  We have gradually, over the past 9 years, gotten back to a nice point in our relationship, where we are friends again.  Just where we started out.  And I am thankful for that, especially for our kids.  They love us both, and don’t need us to be not talking or getting along.

Then I married my second hubby.  My current hubby.  And I thought I didn’t want anything closely similar to what I had before.  And I got exactly that.  But the funny thing is, I had changed over the years since I married the first time.  Due to maturing, and the life experiences I had as a single parent.  And what I got wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.  There have been bumps in the road, and a lot of joy to balance it out.  But in the end, I still want what my parents have.  To know that no matter what happens…whether you have a huge arguement…whether you have a loss…whether you have the most joyful day of your life….I want to know that the person I married is there for me, always.  It’s that simple.  To know that even if you are mad at me, you haven’t stopped loving me.  To know that even if you don’t agree with my opinion about something, that you respect me.  Because in my experience, that is what “true love” is.

Ok, enough deep thoughts for the moment…need to work on that 4 pots of coffee now!

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

