They will come…

Terence: The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It’s been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt, and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game, is a part of our past, Ray. It reminds us of all that once was good, and that could be again. Oh people will come, Ray. People will most definitely come. -Field of Dreams

Extremely good quote!  Especially since my boys of summer routed the Seattle Mariner’s yesterday in our home opener, 14-3.  It is so good to see the boys back.  Especially Timmy Wakefield, Jason Varitek and Mike Timlin (who just returned off the DL).  I love Big Papi (David Ortiz), and the other guys who show up day in and day out.  But there is something about the three I just mentioned.  Especially Timmy Wakefield.  He is a true lover of baseball.  He has been with the Red Sox for 13 years.  He doesn’t play for the money (although I am all sure that money is good).  I held my breath this year when I thought he was gone.  I thought they might not renew his contract.  Gasp!!!! No, say it isn’t so!!

Too often in the past (and present), the Red Sox management has made some horrible decisions in the players eyes.  If I remember right (and correct me if I am wrong), back when Jimmy Rice wanted to sign for one more year to finish out his career, and finish it with the Sox, they said no.  It is good to see him back many years later as an occassional announcer on NESN, among his other duties with the Sox.  But he got a raw deal.  A lot of players did.  Lets just hope Larry Luchino and and the gang have better sense than that.  The fans remember things like that.  I do, most of the Nation does.  As a young fan, Jimmy Rice was my hero.  It was because of him that I played left field in softball as a teenager.  Do not shortchange the heroes.

And my hats off to the 1967 team that helped bring the spirit of baseball back to Boston.  You were and still are an amazing group of men!  And Johnny Pesky….I hope I have half your energy when I get to be your age!  You ROCK!!!!  Glad to see you back out there after the hard couple of years you have had.  Many hugs your way!

Have a blessed evening!

Leave a Reply

