The Challenge

I am working on a project with some fellow scrappers (can’t tell ya yet what it is), and the challenge for this part of it, was to take at least 2, but no more than 4 photos and do two layouts using the same photos.  I am SO excited!!! This is the first scrapping I have done in a few weeks due to the disaster of my studio at the moment, but I pushed piles aside and just went for it.  The results:

  This is layout #1.  I used Patterned paper from Nicole Crafts for the background, Bazzill Lagoon cardstock, and Orange paper from Rob and Bob.  The font is CK Penman.  The sticker (Poetry in Motion) is Miss Elizabeth’s, and the die cuts are all made from a swirl punch and a large flower punch, both from EK Success. Mini brads are Makiing Memories

Here is a close up of the punched :

  I punched two swirls (one from orange, one from lagoon), then pierced a hole in the middle and added the white mini brad.  I made sure to tuck each curve behind the other.  I then punched a large flower from left over photo paper from the pictures I printed and mounted the swirls onto the flower.  Came out pretty cool if I do say so myself.

The second layout:

  This one is the one I am MOST excited about!  I got the inpiration from two places.  Last week at Scrapbook Lifestyle, Mel demonstrated using French Curves to add your own doodling to your background.  I used that along with an idea I got from an episode of Craft TV Weekly, where she used a normal Papermate eraseable pen with embossing powder and a heat gun to create stitches on a layout.  I used the pen to make my doodles with the French curves, sprinkled with embossing powder and melted.  I then used Versamark clear ink and a small flower stamp from Stampin’ Up to make the small floral coming off each doodle. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here is a close up (the paper color is a bit distorted, as this is Bazzill Black)

Thanks for looking and have a blessed day!!

11 Responses

  1. Once again, beautiful job! Love it!

  2. What a different feel the two pages demonstrate. The photos on the dark page look so elegant! Excellent job.

    “Progress, NOT Perfection” in 2007

  3. Wow! Love that second layout. I think we must have watched the same 2 episodes about the french curve and the eraseable ink pen embossing. Love how you incorporated those two techniques into this amazing layout. The black is so dramatic with these pictures. Great job!
    ~Pam

  4. Thanks ladies! Glad you all stopped by and took a peek.

  5. Both are very pretty,but the swirl page is gorgeous. They are both very pretty! Love that technique. Will have to try that.

  6. Wow! I think your pages are GORGEOUS! I love, love what you did with the french curve idea from our show!!! I’ll link Mel up to this! Thanks so much for remembering to share this with me!

    Angela

  7. Wow! That is AWESOME!
    I’m so happy my old-school graphic arts technique crossed over into SBing! LOL!

    I just love what you did with the embossing! It is just beautiful!!!!! Thanks so much for watching!

    Mel

  8. Love it!!! I’m always looking for new ways to emboss stuff. This is such a cool idea. Nice job!
    Donna

  9. wow, love the black layout with the swirls- amazing how the embossing makes the black paper into a whole new paper! thanks angela for pointing this out 🙂

  10. Thanks to all the ladies from Scrapbook Lifestyles for stopping and looking at my layouts! You guys Rock! And thanks for the inspiration Mel!

  11. Great job on the layouts, Steph!!! Love the second one especially!

Leave a Reply

