An Inspiring Thought

This is a post for every single woman out there.  Whether you are single, married, mother, daughter, anything.  Women more often than not, tend to doubt themselves more than men.  Or maybe we are just more vocal about it.  We blame ourselves for things that have nothing to do with us, or for something that we did in the past.

We all look at who we are and wonder if we are doing the best we can.  I am currently reading “Cure for the Common Life” by Max Lucado.  It is learning to find your God given gifts and using them.  In his words “living in your sweet spot”.  This particular quote from the book really hit me today.  Especially after speaking with a very dear friend this morning who was doubting herself:

Scan history for your replica; you won’t find it.  God tailor-made you.  He “personally formed and made each one” (Isa. 43:7 MSG).  No box of “backup yous” sits in God’s workshop.  You aren’t one of many bricks in the mason’s pile or one of a dozen bolts in the mechanic’s drawer.  You are it!  And if you aren’t you, we don’t get you.  The world misses out.

You are heaven’s Halley’s comet; we have one shot at seeing you shine.  You offer a gift to society that no one else brings.  If you don’t bring it, it won’t be brought.” -pg 33

That last part especially hit me.  I doubt myself all the time.  Not as a mom, or even a wife.  In those I feel confident that I am doing a good job.  So why do I feel so inadequate about my art?  I have gotten better…made huges strides in putting myself out there just with this blog…but I still doubt.

But then I read that statement…”if you don’t bring it, it won’t be brought”.  Would the world come to an end without my art?  Probably not.  But my art does something to people.  Everyone who has seen it has told me how good it is.  My afghans have brought smiles not only to my children, but to dear friends.  It provides comfort, a warm snuggle.  My scrapbook pages make the people in them laugh and smile about memories gone by.

Everyone has a gift.  Whether that is being a good mom (and everyone of you know you are!), a good mentor, a person who gives to others, or a business woman, you have a gift to give.  Don’t deny the world of your gift.

2 Responses

  1. I LOVE Max Lucado! He has such a wonderful way of saying things and really finding the meaning behind the ordinary!! LOve

  2. (sorry… i sent it before i finished… lol) Love that quote from him today!! So true–we are EACH unique and gifted!! Great reminder!

Leave a Reply

