Kids and YOU-niqueness

I was reading a great post on Stacy Julian’s blog about her son, and his struggles with ADHD.  How being different isn’t always easy in this world, but is SO completely necessary.

She had this great video clip…I am swiping it to share with you here because I think you need to see it.  Remember that we are all YOU-Nique…don’t try to be anyone but you!

I also believe this deep down for my children.  I have been my son Joey’s advocate through all his struggles with his hearing and resulting speach issues.  I love what the school psychologist told me about both my boys recently.  “They both have a joy for learning, but not in the typical way that the school is accustomed to.  I recommend that we encourage that, not stiffle it to fit our needs.”  I have never had a paraprofessional say such an encouraging thing!  He knows how to work with kids, that comment proves it.  My children are not meant to be stuck in a mold.  They are each different, and I love that!

http://stacysbigpicture.typepad.com/altogether_too_happy/files/geniuses-1BUENO.wmv

Leave a Reply

