Book Review

Ok, so this week I have finished “Real Women Scrap” by Tasra Dawson, and also bought and read the new “Easy Patterns for Scrapbooking” from Creating Keepsakes and author Brenda Arnall.  So for all you ladies wondering what these books are about…I will provide my own little personal book review of each.  Take my opinion as you will, use what you can, leave what you can’t. 🙂

First, Real Women Scrap……..  I will repeat what I said the day I got my package in the mail and read half of it in one afternoon…It is FABULOUS!!!!  I sooo love the way Tasra writes.  I am guessing this is her normal style from reading her blog (Lessons from the Scrapbook Page), but if her goal in writing the book was to make me feel like she was my girlfriend I have known for years, giving me sisterly advice, she hit the nail right on the head.

I was pleased with the scrapbooking tips, but what impressed me most was her ability to take those same principles and show how they can be applied to your life.  So in a nutshell, if you are looking for a new direction not only in how you look at your scrapbooking, but your life as a woman, mother, wife, daughter, friend….This is a fabulous read!  Thanks Tasra!

Now Easy Patterns…..I think the concept of cutting several pieces of coordinating paper ahead of time, labeling, and making “kits” of sorts (which is how I plan to implement this) is a great idea!!  I also think it will help me get more pages done, because the cutting will be all done.  And the hardest part, getting all the papers together and cutting, will be complete.  I haven’t yet tried any of the patterns, but plan to in the next few days.  Have to clean the scrap room first.

I think Brenda’s instructions and additional projects in the book are just icing on the cake.  If you are looking for more than just sketches, but a real proven way to do a simple scrapbook technique and still make it your own, definitely pick up this book.  For $15 it is well worth it.  It also helps you look at your layouts in a new way.  Thanks Brenda and CK for a great new idea!

Just a note:  I was not paid or asked to review these books.  I just happened to buy them, and thought I would share what I got out of them with all of you 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Thank you SO much for your kind review of my book. What a blessing to read this. I mentioned your review on my blog post yesterday too! You just got the book in the way I intended and that makes me happy!

  2. It was my pleasure Tasra! You wrote an amazing book that will stay close by for constant reference in life and scrapbooking.

Leave a Reply

