What do you do?

What do you do when your youngest is sick and you have to go to work?  Keep the oldest (who is still semi sick) home to babysit.  My DD still isn’t feeling great this morning, but since she didn’t have a fever, and the coughing can be controlled with medicine, I was sending her to school.

Fast forward to 6:30 am, when she got the boys up for me, and my youngest DS came downstairs.  Not feeling great, he said, I took his temp.  99.9…shoot…what to do!?  Can’t miss work, since I already lost one day because of my own “crud”.  Ah Ha!  DD you are staying home today, keep your darling brother on the couch, and behave!

I am lucky that my kiddos only get sick about once a year (2nd DS isn’t getting it at all..lucky duck), but when they do get it, they get it good!  Don’t know what I will do if younger one gets sick and older one feels fine (LOL).

So, here’s a random thought to get you going for the day….

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Most days never turn out the way you think they will….do you go with the flow?  Do you take it in stride?  Or do you berate yourself for those things that you didn’t get done?  Do you focus on only the negative?  Make a list of at least 5 good things today that were good.  No matter how simple, each one matters.  I will post my list later today.

EDITED:  simply for being a “doof” hehe.  I forgot to post my list, so here goes:

1.  Getting an appointment for Friday for ds, now on antibiotics 🙂

2.  Knowing that prayer is helping my dear, dear friends…that makes me smile!

3.  DD getting nominated for Upward Bound!! Way to go!!

4.  Finding out my day wasn’t going to be nearly as hectic as I thought it would.

5.  Realizing that in the end, the fact that I have my children and hubby under the same roof with me, happy and healthy….as Martina McBride says “I have been blessed”!!

4 Responses

  1. I just LOVE that quote from Emerson. It is so true–be done with the day and realize that you did your best with it. And stop and appreciate the small things in that day!!!
    Life is good, that’s for sure!!
    5 Good Things Today–
    1– Gary home!
    2– Seeing sweet, special friends at church!
    3– Such a wonderful teeenage daughter!
    4– Girls that give me hugs!!
    5– Brownies with chocolate frosting!!

  2. Love your list Cheryl! LOL I forgot in the chaos of sick kids to post mine…

  3. I also love that quote from Emerson…so succint and to the point. I remember the struggle in having to figure out what to do with my daughter when she was sick and I was a single mom. It was torture having to leave when I knew that I was the only one she wanted. Now I’m blessed to work at home so I can be with my ds when he’s sick…like these past few days. Hopefully he’s on the upswing now though. It’s been rough!

    So glad that your day turned out better than expected. It’s so wonderful to have unexpected delights!

  4. Tasra, thanks so much for stopping by my blog! And I hope your son feels better soon too.

Leave a Reply

