Christmas “Get to know you”

Well, I have been lax in posting the last few weeks due to a sick child, and working non stop at my “night job”.  But here is a fun post inspired by my friend Cheryl (http://lifewithcherylwray.blogspot.com/).  Here are my answers to her questions/prompts.

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?  Neither…coffee only 🙂

2. Does “Santa” wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?  Wraps Yes!! And he always hides one extra in our stockings.

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?  Both, on the tree and the house.  Love lights!!

4. Do you hang mistletoe?  No, I never have.

5. When do you put your decorations up?  We actually got our outside lights up two weeks before Thanksgiving, thanks to the unusually warm weather here in the North East.  We do not do our tree until Christmas Eve (family tradition, more to come in a following post).

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?  Turkey.  I know, very boring.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child?  The last Christmas we spent with my Grandparents (my dad’s mom and dad) in CT.  I remember playing in the livingroom with my Barbies, and my younger brother using my Granmother’s nick nack shelf (open to the stairs) as a target zone for his nerf gun lol.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?  I was about 8, and caught my mother placing presents under the tree.  But I still believe there are Santa “helpers”.  Those people that do things for others just because they can.  Because they see a need and want to help.  There is no gain for them, other than the gift of giving.  These people are Santa’s 365 days a year.  I strive to be one of those people.  Many times I fall short, but I will never give up trying.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree?   Tons of lights, some store bought glass balls in different colors, and lots of homemade ornaments.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it?  I love the first good storm of the year.  And I love that unexpected last storm late in April.  But the feet..yes in New England we get feet, not inches…I could do without.  When you are getting 18 inches every few days, it gets old fast! lol!

12. Can you ice skate?  Yes, ever since my father took me at the ripe old age of 4.  I am not very good at it now, at the ripe old age of 40, the knees don’t cooperate.  But I still love it!  And it is one of those rare things that I get to do with my children.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?  My favorite gift happened about five years ago.  My hubby proposed with a dollar store ring (he wanted me to be with him when he bought the “real thing”).  He hid it in the tree, and the kids all knew about it, but I couldn’t find it.  My dd finally pointed it out to me.

14. What’s the most exciting thing about the Holidays for you?  Decorating the tree with the kids.  I love to see their faces light up with excitement.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert?   Chocolate Cream Pie!! Hands down.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?  Eating pizza for Christmas Eve while decorating the tree.

17. What tops your tree?  A star with lights.  I used to have a very inexpensive angel that belonged to my grandmother.  It only stood about 7 inches tall.  Nothing fancy, something she probably picked up at one time at Woolworth’s or something.  But it was hers.  That is what made it so special.  About 8 years ago I gave it to a very dear friend in England.  I miss it, and I hope he values it as much as I did.

18. Which do you prefer: give or receive?  Give!!! Although I wouldn’t mind a Pazzle under the tree this year (hint, hint).

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song?  Silent Night.  I love it so much it became the lullabye that I sang to my children.

20. Candy Canes?  Yuck!!

2 Responses

  1. Your answers are SO great!! I love your answer to the Santa question, and of your hubby proposing. So sweet!!!

  2. Thanks! It was very unexpected, but loved it!

Leave a Reply

